Small statuette

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Small statuette

Ok, so i'm not a complete beginner, but i've only really used pine.

I'm looking to carve a christmas gift for my mom in the form of a statuette. in a deep brown shade. I have no idea what hard woods of 'hazlenut-shell' color will be suitable.

any advice on which woods and at what price they are found would be much appreciated. If you could also say how easily available they are i would be indebted to you.

[glow=red,2,300][shadow=red,left,300][move]THANK YOU!!! THANK YOU!!! THANK YOU!!! THANK YOU!!! [/move][/shadow][/glow]

Re: Small statuette

Forgot to add, this statuette will be about half a meter tall and 20-30 centimeteres across in a swan-like shape.

Comment

Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Latest Topics

Collapse

• Don in Brooklin On
      Reply to Blades
      by Don in Brooklin On
      I have been cutting a lot of 1 1/2 hardwood for mini birdhouses and my go to blade in the Flying Dutchman UR-5 as I like the finish it gives.
      For some real hard woods like cherry and hard maple I have had better luck with the FD polar bladed #5.

I had some cherry that was burning...
      Today, 12:30 AM
    • Linda In Phoenix
      Reply to Blades
      by Linda In Phoenix
      My preference would be Flying Dutchman #5, as it could handle it if you needed some tighter turns---and going to a #7 or #9 if doing a lot of straighter cuts. Plywood does dull blades a bit faster though, no matter the blade brand choice. The best blade is kinda a broad question---every brand works...
      Yesterday, 10:28 PM
    • Linda In Phoenix
      Reply to Blades
      by Linda In Phoenix
      I totally agree with Dan (dgman). I prefer Flying Dutchmans for most things, but I know others who absolutely swear by other top brands, and almost everyone go thumbs down on generics after trying the name brands---and the price difference is next to nothing if you know where to buy. Some suppliers...