Trivet Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trivet Question

Ok I know a lot of us make wood trivets but how many actually put hot pans on them on a regular basis? I had one woman complain about wood burning on some she got at a craft show. I use Spar varnish on mine and haven't heard any complaints and I do make a point of telling I will fix or repair free if they do burn. I would like to hear what others have discovered doing this!
    Last edited by WGR; 03-13-2012, 03:04 AM. Reason: misspelled word
    WGR

To get back my youth I would do anything in the world, except take exercise, get up early, or be respectable.
    Oscar Wilde

I have been scrolling the Trivets for many years, and had always heard not to use any type of varnish or poly on them. I dip them in 100% Tung oil or mineral oil. They seal the wood and will not allow a pot to burn the wood. As far as using them, yep, we do and I know several of our kids do as well.
    Hawaiilad
    Larry

Comment

heres some i did for my superbowl party for all the hot dips. i used plain acrylic paint not knowing how it would hold up with heat but it was family and there pans not mine so why not try ha ha they worked great

jerry
      Attached Files

Comment

With a wooden trivet, I would say that the risk of scorching & burning are part of the price you pay to have an item made from a natural material. I don't think there is any finish, available to the consumer, that will fully protect against the high heat of a pan right out of the oven or off the stove top. Some are better than others (and perhaps some woods are more heat resistant than others), but in my opinion, if it's hot enough to really scorch the wood, it's probably hot enough to damage just about any finish you can put on it. I wouldn't necessarily depend on a finish to protect the wood from high heat.