Turkey napkin holder

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Turkey napkin holder

Not sure what the category is for this...3D intarsia? I wanted to do something for Thanksgiving and stumbled on the pattern on this site (Scroll Saw Woodworking & Crafts - Fall-themed Napkin Holders).

To be honest, I'm not entirely sure what the wood types are; I just went to a local wood supply shop and he let me dig through his scrap pile and even planed a few pieces for me. I think the dark wood is sapele (sp?), then I believe maple (or birch?) for the head and feathers and ash (?) for the feet and beak.

It's my first attempt at fitting different types of wood together, and I had a rough time with it. I gotta say, cutting to fit is nerve-racking . I'm still learning to cut on the line, and I don't want to make it worse having to make the cut again when there are gaps, especially with curves (like the head and body). Also, I didn't plan the tail feather cuts very well and didn't have much leverage when I went back to cut them to fit. In the places where I had it fitting as best I could without making it worse, my dirty secret to filling the gaps between tail feather pieces and the head/body was sawdust . I sanded it to fill the gaps, blew off the excess, [CA] glued it in, sanded again, then repeated as necessary. It feels very amateur, but my wife loves it, my kids helped paint and spray on the finish, so I love it too!

Next up is a few simple ornaments my wife found online, and an Iwo Jima pic for my Dad for Christmas (hopefully I'll finish on time). Found the pattern in a thread and ordered the back issue of the magazine mentioned by RFortier in the 2nd post: http://www.scrollsawer.com/forum/scr...ests/40262.htm. I'm nervous and excited about cutting that bad boy!
    Attached Files
    Dewalt 788

Very nice job. Your kids did a great job painting and finishing it.