Roundover Edges

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Roundover Edges

I am new to toy making and run into a problem. I want to roundover the edges of the toys. I have used a router with a 1/8" roundover bit and this works but does not get into the tight spots.

I hand sand where I can but I HATE sanding by hand.

Is there an alternative? Is there a sanding attachment that I can put in my drill press that would work? I would appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks

You can use a sanding mop. Klingspore has one.
    4X12 220 GRIT GOLD SAND MOP REFILL 24PK | Klingspor's Woodworking Shop
    You can also use the other type I call it a flap wheel but I can't find my link to it right now. Rolf is a proponent for it perhaps he will see your post or you can send him a private message..

here it is flap sander.
    http://www.woodcraft.com/Product/200...der-Large.aspx I have one of these as well. I seem to use the mop more often.
    "Still Montana Mike"

"Don't worry about old age--it doesn't last that long."
    Mike's Wood-n-Things LLC

Comment

Mike is right, both types of mop work great and save a ton of time. I use 180 for the hard wood and 240 for the soft.
      Both types need a break in. I use a chunk of hardwood (maple)
      I personally prefer this type of mop sander.

Also from Klingspore
      http://www.woodworkingshop.com/product/mm07204/
      They seem to last longer for me.
      Last edited by Rolf; 10-18-2011, 11:57 AM.
      Rolf
      RBI G4 26 Hawk, EX 16 with Pegas clamps, Nova 1624 DVR XP
      Philosophy "I don't know that I can't, therefore I can"
      Proud Member of the Long Island Woodworkers Club
      And the Long Island Scrollsaw Association

Comment

Klingspor makes they best sanding products. Buy that mop and you will never look back.
        Scott
        Creator of fine designer sawdust.

Comment