How do you get rid of "fuzzies"?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do you get rid of "fuzzies"?

Ok, I have a question for you detail carvers out there. Seems that when I get down to the end of a carving and am putting on the last few cuts, I get 'fuzzies' in the cracks where two adjoining angles meet. They look like several slices of little bits of wood that need to be cleaned up before it looks finished. What's the trick to not getting them? Sharper knives? Smaller knives? I'm currently getting rid of them with micro tools and the not-so-occasional dremel tool...GASP!

What's the trick?

Thanx much,
    Brian

Re: How do you get rid of "fuzzies"?

The evil fuzzies!!!
    I use a scalpel blade it is sort of like a x-acto blade, that works great. I am new to power, but some off those little bits can work too. Sometimes a V-tool works in that spot.
    Have fun Michele.

Comment

I use a wood burner with a detail blade to get the little splinters out of the corners.
      Visit Easton, Md's Waterfowl Festival November 8th 9th and 10th.

Comment

I use small riffler files; they come in v, u, flat, square and a few other profiles and most work down to a needle point.
        There are also diamond rifflers, but I haven't tried them yet.

Al

Comment

Al....Pick up some of those diamond rifflers when you get the chance, I think you'll really like them. I picked up a set on sale a few years ago and use them a lot. They don't seem to plug up as bad as the conventional type... 8)

Comment

Thanks, Capt, I think I will pick a set up next time down to the twin cites

Al

Comment

I just saw the answer to this on the beginners site, they took scotchbrite pads and cut a small disk, put a hole in the center and use on dremel or foredom....good idea....not mine but a good idea!

Comment