One man's trash.......

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• One man's trash.......

Got this table from a neighbors trash Wednesday night. It had paint and glue all over the top, like on the right leg there, looked like they used it for crafts. I brought it home and am in the process of re-finishing the top. It's 36" x 24" x 34.5" and I'm thinking about mounting my scroll saw to it so I don't have to keep moving it to and from my work bench. My question is, what is the prefered height and angle the table should be? I've never used one before. Thanks for the info! Don

I moved your thread to a more appropriate forum to maximize traffic and get you more responses to your request/question.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by wood-n-things; 10-07-2011, 11:06 AM.
    Don

That cleaned up pretty good. I have not been out to the shop yet but when I do I'll measure my ex stand for you if you don't have an answer by then.
    "Still Montana Mike"

"Don't worry about old age--it doesn't last that long."
    Mike's Wood-n-Things LLC

Comment

Very nice table. That would go well in my shop too.
      I would say the height of the table should be.....well....when you sit on your stool or stand at the saw, and you place your hands on the saw deck, your fore arms should be parallel with the floor. Ergonomically speaking that is.
      Often folks will have the back legs a little longer so the deck tilts toward the cutter. That makes it easier to see the project being cut and helps with back strain.
      Pacifism is great, as long as everyone is participating.

StephenD

The Southern Arizona Woodturners Association
      Desert Woodcrafters
      Grandpa for the 7 most amazing children.

Comment

I wouldn't change the angle of the table, but instead keep elevating the back of the saw until you find an angle that you are comfortable with. It's not a case of one size fits all. Hope this helps.
        Jack

Comment