Bleaching wood

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bleaching wood

I have a good carving gone bad. I didn't test the wood before putting oil on it and it turned a putrid yellow. Then I put stain on it in hopes of making it better. Then I had a horrible mess as the cottonwood absorbed it into big ugly bloches. It looks like her face has leprosy. Then I started trying to pull it off. That worked well but only in some areas. I wonder if I got some wood bleach if it might make her face white again? When will I ever learn?

Re: Bleaching wood

My friend had a gun stock do the same thing. It was birch. He just left it as is. He sold the gun tho. I never tried to bleach wood. I have had some disappointing experiences with stains tho.
    Have fun with your food, eat with your fingers!

Comment

Is it something you can paint? If not and it were mine, I would probably try a piece of the same wood with some minwax prestain sealer and then try a gel stain over that...just a thought! ???

Comment

Good Morning
        I have used wood bleach before -- tried 2-3 different brands,but like Klean Strip best. I mostly use it on carvings of white animals or carving that I want to look evenly all off white.

This stuff is pretty potent--best used outdoors or with good venting. And the wood must dry thoroughly afterwards before you seal/finish.

If you still have piece of the wood you used for the carving, I'd try to recreate the stain mishap on the scrap--then try bleaching it to see what it does---BEFORE applying it to your carving.

Another techique I've tried when I've not been happy with a staining process that had some really uneven staining results or a bad color, put the stain in your airgun/airbrush and apply a light, but even coat of stain on it and DO NOT wipe it off. A furniture refinisher taught me this one.

Good luck. Sometimes we learn more from the mishaps than the successes.

Donna T

Comment