Turning blanks for scrolling.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Turning blanks for scrolling.

I was given $100 from the people I work with when I retired last week. Since I'm kinda known as a woodworker, I thought I'd use the money to buy some exotic woods - stuff I wouldn't ordinarily buy, maybe some woods to use in intarsia. So I walk into Rockler, wondering how I'm gonna do this and what I'm gonna find.

First thing I see is a whole pallet full of 5 x 5 turning blanks for $6.50 apiece, and I visualized them ripped or resawn into 1/2 or 3/4 inch for intarsia or 1/8 to 1/4 inch for small fret ornaments or even bookmatched into all kinds of things. And they also had tables and shelves full of other kinds of turning blanks: 1 1/2 x 1 1/2 or 2 x 2, a foot long. Smaller pieces, bigger pieces. Wow!

I walked out of there with Cocobolo, Orange Osage, Balsamo, Pan Ferro, Pink Ivory, Black Palm, Kingwood, and Granadillo. Most of it is green (for turning, covered with wax). I told the Rockler guy what I wanted it for. He said to rip or resaw it, then dry it - nuke it in the microwave, even - then scroll it. So can you dry wood by microwave and have it turn out okay? Or should I just air dry it for .. what? .. months or a year?

This was fun -- all these wonderful rich colors and grain!

(Oh, then I went to Woodcraft and got a Zebrawood and a Bloodwood board.)
    Kevin

Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind. -- Dr. Seuss

NEW DeWalt 788 and that old, Jimmy- Jerry- and Kevin-rigged Delta 40-560

Hi Kevin,