What wood do you use for portraits?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What wood do you use for portraits?

Hello All, I have been using 1/8" Baltic Birch plywood on all my portraits that I cut. I am about to start on the Jeff Zaffino pattern "First Fathers" (found here)All Other - First Fathers Project Pattern, and I was wondering what other woods you guys use for portraits. I do not want to use stain because I am not very good at staining or painting. I will be useing a black background on this project. Any suggestions? Thanks.
    Mark
    Proud new owner of an EX-21

WWW.MGMWOODWORKS.COM

Wow! That's a pretty energetic undertaking. Like you, I also mainly use 1/8" BB, but for this project you might want to think about using 1/4" BB and take advantage of it's more layers being stronger. I agree with not staining or painting, just leaving it natural. Good luck with it.
    Jack

Comment

I only use 1/4" woods for this type only because like jack said the more layers. I also try to get at least 5-ply and hope for the best that there is no voids. The thickness is great for premade frames once the glass is taken out it fits right in and plus it's thick enough for the very detailed fretwork involved in this type of scrolling. I have used up to 3/4" for portraits but only if requested b/c I don't like making frames and it's hard on the blades. Yes on 1/2" or thicker I make my own frames. As far as staining, when I do stain I use a sprayer or a spray can stain. But only do that if I don't like how the grains look or if I have to do much detail sanding. Hope this helps you on this major undertaking project. Would love to see pictures when you finish this project. Good Luck!
      Oh, as far as the species of woods, for me it varies on what the portrait is of and the grain look I'm looking for. I've used oak, bb, and even pine sometimes.
      "Keep Scrolling Along"
      Chris "The WoodArtist"
      https://www.facebook.com/TheWoodArtistWoodShop