Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Source for exotic woods

Hello,

I am new to scroll sawing and now that my scroll saw stand is just about complete I have been looking for patterns/ potential projects. I noticed a lot of the patterns call for exotic woods that are not very accessible. I searched the web and I see Woodcraft and Rockler see pretty much everything, not sure if prices are good or not, they seem high. Where do you get your exotic woods from?

Next, I wouldn't worry at all with exotic's yet. Use what you have or can obtain cheap or free. A good portion of the enjoyment for me is scrounging stock.
    Yard sales to junk piles old doors, pallets just about anything can be used.
    You'll be surprised how often you will find nice hard woods in junk piles
    May the wind at you back .....
    Not be from Lunch.

Don't take life too seriously; No one gets out alive.

Beauty is in the eye of the BEERHOLDER

Visit My Gallery

Oily's Gallery

http://www.picturetrail.com/oily11

Comment

I agree with Oily. When I started scrolling, I bought a large sheet of glued up pine that was relatively free of knots, and got a lot of mileage out of it. I liked the 3/4" thickness because the blade is easier to control than with thinner wood.

Most of the big box stores carry poplar, and you can often get maple and oak. The local Loew's carries those woods in 1/2" and 1/4" thickness, as well as 3/4". If you choose carefully, you can get some nice wood. If there is a cabinet shop near you, you can often get the cut-offs for little or nothing. If you do scrounge, watch out for wood with nails, bad knots, warping, and other problems. A piece that is well-cut will look good, no matter what wood you use.

That said, I've relied on Ocooch for exotics and thin woods that I could not get elsewhere. Their pricing is fair, and their service is excellent. Do check out your local lumberyards--they may carry far more than your expect.