Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Elk Antlers

I'm new to this so here goes.
    I have a couple of elk antlers that i wouldlike to do some work with. Has anyone out there ever done any work with any type of antlers.
    Second: What speed would i cut these on with my saw.
    Thanks in advance for any information.

MKHC130

I moved your thread to a more appropriate forum to maximize traffic and get you more responses to your request/question.
    Last edited by wood-n-things; 11-10-2011, 03:52 PM.

I tried turning deer antlers quite a few years ago. They need to be worked very slowly whether drilling, cutting or turning.

I didn't finish a project with the antler mostly due to the smell. I'd rather have a skunk die in my house. The stench is absolutely the worst thing imaginable.

Comment

Thanks woods-n-things i said i was new at this and apparently it shows.

Simon i have cut it and it didn't smell to bad. I just went through several blades. If anyone else has any more info that would be great.

Comment

There is some info in this thread:
        antler carving - Woodcarving Illustrated Message Board
        Be careful with the dust, apparently it is very nasty if inhaled. You should wear a good mask.
        Good luck
        Don R
        http://www.oldcrowwoodcrafts.weebly.com
        http://www.oldcrowscrollwerks.weebly.com
        Custom Made Scroll Saw Patterns

Comment

Seriously...!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
          Wear a mask...
          It can make you REALLY sick...!!!
          Jim

The limits of the imagination are imaginary.
          No task is too tedious for Art.
          Rock and Scroll

My Gallery

My Website
          Featherwood Woodcrafts

Comment

Antlers