glue question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• glue question

I'm not sure if this the correct place to post this, but perhaps one of the moderators will move it if necessary.

My question. Does anyone know of a super glue that is in gel form and doesn't run? I need to glue some rounded surfaces together and I don't want the glue to run down the sides.

Any advise you can give me is appreciated. Thanks.

El
    WisEl

RBI Hawk 226 VS

Go Brewers!

They do have several brands of CA gel on the market. Try your local Michaels or other large craft store or any hobby store. Hot stuff is one brand that comes to mind.
    "Still Montana Mike"

"Don't worry about old age--it doesn't last that long."
    Mike's Wood-n-Things LLC

Comment

CA glue, from several manufacturers, are generally available in three viscosities; thin, medium, and thick. The medium, which I usually use has the consistancy of molasses, or ketchup. It flows slooowly. I have no experience with the thick. One thing to be aware of is that the cure time increases with the thicker materials. So if that's an issue, make sure you get some accelerator.

If the thick CA doesn't do it for you, consider getting a "five minute" epoxy. Again there are several brands, they are two part systems. They have the advantage over CA glues that they are gap filling.

Comment

Your local model boat/aircraft shop will have it. If you prefer online shopping try Tower Hobbies TowerHobbies.com | Shop by Category: Cyanoacrylate Glues

Comment

There is a gel superglue. You can get it in Walmart even. Check the hardwood department for a whole selection. I have also found that any superglue will set up faster if the wood is slightly damp. Or if you also apply wood glue w/it.
          T
          Theresa

http://WoodNGoods.weebly.com

http://woodngoods.blogspot.com

Comment