Padauk

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Padauk

Hello, Is there any precautions to take cutting padauk, other than using a dust mask. I was cutting some the other day, (a very small amount) and the next thing I knew I ended up with a headache. It probally was just a coincidence.Any suggestions? Bob.
    Be the good,
    you want to see in the world...

I have heard it is a nsaty dust, although I do like the scent.
    I know issue 19 of SSW has an article on hazards. For those who don't have access here is another chart
    CAЯL HIRD-RUTTEЯ
    "proud member of the best scroll sawing forum on the net."
    Ryobi SC180VS scroll saw EX21

Comment

I do hardwood flooring and have recently had the same issue. Have never had a problem with Austrailian Cypress before (have installed over 25,000 square feet+) and a couple weeks ago had a severe headache for a few days. Got away from floor and when came back to sand it, same thing. I have been doing this for over 23 years. Another wood I just had problems with is Trestlewood (reclaimed fir that was sunk into Salt Lake for a time). When cut it smells like a litter box. Won't burn very well either. Very high mineral count which gives it a high moisture reading (17-18%). I will see how I handle the purpleheart project I have to do next week.
      "All it Takes For the Forces of EVIL to Rule Is For Enough GOOD People To DO NOTHING!"

Saws: Excaliber 30; Dewalt 788 'Twins', Makita SJ401 (Retired), Grizzly G1012 18" Bandsaw

Comment

Ive not had any reaction to padauk, or any wood dust at all yet for that matter, except I do notice when cutting cedar my nose seems to get full of snot. I never liked the smell of cedar, even back when I had snakes for pets and raised over 100 mice and rats to feed the snakes,I used pine bedding because I just didnt care for cedar smell, but the dust from it doesnt seem to bother me.