Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lumber for beginners

Hi everyone,
    I am a new scroller. And new to this site. I need any information on the lumber to buy for scrolling. I have little knowledge on the subject other than there are hardwoods and softwoods. What scrolling timber easy for a beginner? And what blades are best?
    thanks
    Anne

Welcome to the world of scrolling. Soft wood is good for a beginner and you can get it at Home Depot or Lowes. Either pine or better yet poplar is great. If you are just doing basic outlines try some laun plywood and have it cut up to managable size. It is 1/4" As far as blades go there is a person that frequents this site and sells perhaps the best blades on the market today. Here is his web site and on it there is alot of good begginers info. www.mikesworkshop.com Email Mike and he will even send you some free samples. The prices are great and fast delivery. Can't go wrong.
    John T.

Comment

Hi Anne, welcome to the forum. I am not sure what woods are available to you in Tasmania.
      I would go for tight grained wood that is quartersawn if you can get it.
      Quartersawn means the grain will be vertical.

Baltic Birch ply is a good material. It has more plies than traditional plywood and there are less voids on the inside.
      If you don't want to spend much money to learn about the different woods, try recycling old furniture, the sides of drawers are just the right thickness for scrolling.
      CAЯL HIRD-RUTTEЯ
      "proud member of the best scroll sawing forum on the net."
      Ryobi SC180VS scroll saw EX21

Comment

Anne:

Tasmania??? Isn't that an Island south of Australia? You are very welcome to this Forum site. I am always suprised to find out just how far and wide the people who join this are located. You just may hold the record for being the most Southern Gal here.