Alternative Materials Sources

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Alternative Materials Sources

I don't know how much anyone here works with materials other than wood. If anyone is interested in using plexiglas or aluminum I can tell you a good source for them.
    I work in the sign industry as a metal fabricator. We use aluminum a lot. Typically our drop aluminum is put into a dumpster that we turn in to a recycling center. The higher ups say that they do the same with plexiglas but I've not seen anyone pick up plexiglas in 3 years. Point is that if you're looking for smaller pieces you can pick up any of this for nothing or next to nothing if you talk to the supervisor at a sign shop near you.
    Our typical inventory consists of aluminum in thicknesses of .040, .050, .063, .080, .090 and .125. (.063 is 1/16 of an inch and .125 is 1/8 of an inch to give you a perspective) Some is already prepainted red, black, bronze, white, yellow, etc. Some of the drops can be quite large up to about 5 sq. ft.
    Plexiglas is about the same. Most of what we use is 3/16 inch but we do use some 1/8 inch. Many colors to choose from.
    This is a place where someone interested in cutting aluminum or plex could pick up a lot of pieces for next to nothing or even better free.

Thanks

Good tip Sparhawk!
    Offcuts are always a good source, sometimes you can get corian from the cutouts in counters, check cabinet shops.
    I have often thought of going to a flooring store for offcuts of hardwood floors and laminate flooring. I havent cut any laminate yet but it looks promising.
    I want to try cutting bone sometime or antlers, but I have heard the smell of the material is gross when cutting so do it outdoors.
    I also had a source of abalone shells, but the person who gave them to me says the dust is very dangerous.
    When I was on holidays last week I saw some incredible work done with stone.