Buying a Scrollsaw

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Buying a Scrollsaw

Hello. I'm looking for advice. I"m shopping for a scrollsaw. There's a local Hawk 220 available, used, in incredible condition for a decent price or the new Jet scrollsaw is of interest. I know the two saws are quite different and to be honest, I'm more familiar with the new jet saw. How are the Hawk saws, especially the 220? Thanks.

Hi Greg and welcome. Unfortunately, I have no working knowledge of the Hawk. Hopefully some will be along shortly who can give you some insight and detail. I believe that several members here are fans of the Hawks and I have heard good things about it. One question I do know to ask is will this be your first scroll saw or are you replacing or upgrading from another saw?
    Melanie from East TN

Comment

This will be "my" first saw. What I mean is I've used others' from time to time, but this will be my first to own.

Comment

Gotcha - the reason I asked is that if you have a lot of experience with one saw, you may have a preference for being a "top feeder" or a "bottom feeder" - if you did - then that would potentially impact what saw(s) you wanted to consider.

I believe that Carole Rothman (handibunny), who is also a regular here on the forum, did a good review on the Jet scroll saw shortly after it came out. I am pretty sure it was discussed on here. I will see if I can find that. (I didn't find that discussion. But found link on Steve Good's blog to the video Carole did: http://scrollsawworkshop.blogspot.co...t-jw22-22.html )

There was also a review in the Scrollsaw Woodworking & Crafts Summer 2017 (Issue 67) magazine of both the Jet saw and the new Seyco saw. I am sure you can get a back issue from them here if interested: https://foxchapelpublishing.com/maga...ng-crafts.html this one takes you directly to that edition: https://foxchapelpublishing.com/scro...mmer-2017.html