Scroll saw or band saw

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Scroll saw or band saw

I am just getting into wood carving and need something to cut out and rough cut wood blanks. Any suggestions as to whether I should use a band saw or a scroll saw. I have a very restrictive budget and small area in my garage. Thanks for any suggestions you may have.

Re: Scroll saw or band saw

Neil (I think),

I'd opt for the largest bandsaw I could afford. Even a smaller bench model wil serve you better for doing blank cutouts than a scroll saw. You will probably be working with stock at least two inches thick and up to 4', and most scrolls won't handle that heavy material very well. They seem to just EAT blades when doing heavy stock. If most of your bandsaw work will be cutting moderate sized blanks (2-4 inches thick), you will want to be using 1/8 inch blades and a slow steady feed. If there are no sharp turns in your project, you can step up to a 1/4' blade to speed up the process a bit.

Suprisingly, you can do some very intricate work with a bandsaw and an 1/8' blade. Not to the extent of a scroll saw, but still, quite precise.

My old scroll (jig) saw will handle stock to 4', but even that one does a poor job with the heavy stock

Al

Comment