16" or 18" scroll saw

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 16" or 18" scroll saw

Hi guys. When you select your scroll saw, will you take throat depth into consideration? What kind of features are you looking for in a 18" scroll saw?

bennett, don't know of anyone that makes an 18" saw anymore. Delta made one for awhile. 16" and 20" are the most common. You can cut larger pieces with the 20". Check with Rick at www.scrollsaws.com.
    Mick, - Delta P-20

A smile is a small curve that straightens everything out.

Comment

Originally posted by bennett
      Hi guys. When you select your scroll saw, will you take throat depth into consideration? What kind of features are you looking for in a 18" scroll saw?
      I have been scrolling for 10 years or so. I have bought everything from the 100-200 dollar saws, a Hegner 18VS, a couple of DW788's and I even tried out a couple of RBI Hawk scroll saws. None of them even came close to the accuracy and ease of cutting that the Delta P20 (40-680) I have had for the last three years. It is used for everything from portraits to 3D Christmas ornaments.

It's lack of vibration and ease of top feeding of the blade make short work of even the most complicated pattern.
      Bob from Northwest Florida

Delta P20

Comment

Dremel's new saw is an 18". SSWC did a review of it recently.
        It all depends on what you're wanting to do. If you're interested in larger projects, a deeper throat is great. I cut a lot of largish stuff so I went with a saw with a 30" throat, a solid warranty and top feeding ability (an EX-30). It met all of my needs.
        As far as features, keys for me were ease of blade changing, throat depth, lack of vibration, reputation, reviews, maintenance, dependability and warranty.
        Last edited by Jediscroller; 11-13-2006, 10:47 AM.
        Kevin
        Scrollsaw Patterns Online
        Making holes in wood with an EX-30, Craftsman 16" VS, Dremel 1680 and 1671

Comment