Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Saw Questions

I have a couple of questions.

First I inherited one saw. A very old Craftsman 13" that only takes in Pin-end blades. Can't do a extremely small cuts on that but it is a wonderful saw.

Then I ran across a Skil at a yard sale and purchased that. It accepts both types of blades but the plain end blades keep slipping.

I am new to the hobby and but after the frustration of changing out those blades I want a different saw.

Is there a saw out there for the hobbiest that the plain-end blades are EASY and hassle free to change? (I do not have any hassle with the pin-end ones other than I can't cut really small cuts.)

Brenda
    Brenda

Brenda's Blog (This is a little bit of everything, Scrapbooking, Crocheting, Crafting, Wood Crafting)

Brenda's Gallery

"If you are not always busy something is wrong!"

Brenda. I have a question for you. When using the plane-end blades, do you take a piece of sandpaper and sand the ends before putting them in the clamps? The blades are coated with an oil to keep them from rusting and if you don't sand them the oil will cause them to slip out. Before investing into another saw try that first if you haven't already. I had the same problem on my saw as well have others here even with the more expensive saws before sanding the ends. Hope this helps.
    "Keep Scrolling Along"
    Chris "The WoodArtist"
    https://www.facebook.com/TheWoodArtistWoodShop

Comment