Why Hegner?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why Hegner?

I am currently cutting on a 6 month old Dewalt saw. I love the saw and it runs great. However, I stumbled upon a couple new Hegners, both new, both very cheap. So my question is why Hegner? What makes them so great? Also, I do fretwork and Intarsia. Are they good for both?

Yes they are great for both. Top notch saw and precision made. That is what makes them so good. High quality parts and well designed results is a very low vibration machine. The less vibration the more ease and joy to use. With the low vibration it is so much easier to stay in the line where you want to be.
    If you stumbled into a couple, buy one and let me know about the other one. You can never have too many saws.

Comment

I have been scrolling for over 25 years and have used and owned most brands of scroll saws...some were just for starters (less than $100 new) and others cost many $100 more. For the past 10 years I have used Hegners and love them....why two of them...one is a polymax 22" belt driven and the other is a 18" VIR speed that I picked up used sale. I find if I have a problem or broken part, they are easy to find the parts and easy to repair myself. I do all types of scrolling and this saw will do it all.

Everyone has a favorite saw they like to use and you may find another brand better than the Hegner, but it's not because it's a bad saw...they are built great. That is why the extra price
      Hawaiilad
      Larry

Comment

I also have two Hegners. One I bought new...the second one, used
        (25 years old). I had a DeWalt that ran and cut as nice as do the Hegners but it literally fell apart after 20 months. My answer to "why a Hegner?" is that they are durable.
        Hegner Polymax- 3,Hegner Multimax-3,
        "No PHD, just a DD 214"

Comment