Help with blades and speed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with blades and speed

Hi All, hope you all a good Christmas, can you all please help here I am new to scroll sawing and have a question about blades what are the sizes available and which are best for which wood? and also can you point me in the right direction regarding speed what speed should my scroll saw be on for various wood types.
    I am sure this is very basic stuff and I promise not to ask again!!
    Have a great weekend
    Will

I moved your thread to a more appropriate forum to maximize traffic and get you more responses to your request/question.
    Last edited by wood-n-things; 01-15-2012, 10:22 AM.

There are a number of quality blades on the market. IMHO Flying Dutchman are the best of those. I get mine from Mike:
    Mike's Workshop selling Flying Dutchman brand fret and scrollsaw blades

I do have to say that I use #5 ultra reverse tooth or #5 reverse tooth for at least 75% of my cutting. I cut hardwoods, softwoods and plywood with those. There are times that I might go to a larger or smaller reverse tooth but not often. For 3D cutting I use mostly a #5 polar blade to cut wood up to 1 1/2 thick.

Machine speed is a learned ability. By that I mean you set the speed at the level you are comfortable with. I prefer higher speeds most of the time as I use my saw daily and I have developed a "feel". Now I do slow down when working on delicate areas that have tight turns.
    Scott
    Creator of fine designer sawdust.

Comment

Originally posted by NC Scroller View Post
      There are a number of quality blades on the market. IMHO Flying Dutchman are the best of those. I get mine from Mike:
      Mike's Workshop selling Flying Dutchman brand fret and scrollsaw blades