Excalibur 21 vs 30

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Excalibur 21 vs 30

I am new into scroll sawing as a hobby. I was looking at buying the excalibur 21 inch. I know some say that the dewalt is just as good and much cheaper. However adding the stand and light to the dewalt raises the pricde since the excalibur caomes with them. However my question is the difference between an excalibur 21 and 30 is about 250 dollars. What sort of items would you need larger than 21 inches. What sort of projects and does a home hobbies really need larger than 21 inches. Thank you for your opinions

sturmanj, welcome to the forum. I have been scrolling for 19 years and have never found a use for a saw larger than my 20". You can always use a spiral blade which there are no limts as to what size you want to cut. I would not spend an extra $250.00 for a saw that you would need the extra throat length seldom. I would go for the Excalibur if you can afford one. Seems like owners of the Dewalt 788's are having many problems with the Type 2 models manufactured in Taiwan. Many swear by their 788's, many swear at them.
    The Dewalt company doesn't seem to care about the quailty control of their scrollsaws. I suppose now I am in trouble with all the 788 owners on here. I am just going by what I read here and on several other scrollig forums. Good luck with whichever saw you choose.
    Mick, - Delta P-20

A smile is a small curve that straightens everything out.

Comment

yup, never needed anything bigger then 21. the new 16 would probably work good enough for me.

+ + I Love The Smell Of Sawdust In The Morning + +

Comment

I personally wouldn't want to be swinging a piece of wood that is so big, it can't be cut on a 21" saw. I would be fine with the 16" myself but Sheila wanted the 21" so that's what we got.