Sears saw?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sears saw?

Hi - new to scroll saw work, so not sure about a decent beginner saw.

I am thinking this one is worth a look...

Sears Craftsman Scroll Saw - $40

Is that a reasonable price for this saw? I am just a beginner, so ya know, it doesn't have to be a Cadillac right now.

Welcome to the site and the world of scroll sawing. The machine in question is only a single speed. YOU WILL NOT BE HAPPY. Keep looking.
    Scott
    Creator of fine designer sawdust.

Comment

hey your looking at a saw in brentwood / oakley? that's only an hour from me..

you know, you can get a new craftsman scroll saw for just over $100..

I started on a Craftsman saw....

Trout
      Hawk G-4 Jetcraft
      Fish are food, not friends!

Comment

NC & Trout - thanks for the feedback - I ended up getting it because I needed something, and, I currently only had enough cash to get it. I will try it out and if I really don't like it, no problem, I will sell it and save for the right one.

So... that said - what are 2 or 3 good scroll saws for a beginner but will also be good for an experienced scroll saw artist?

Thanks!
        Jim

Comment

The saw you purchased will not accept plain end blades so you will not be able to do inside cuts without drilling unsightly holes. The good news is that it does good work for the money. I had one for years and used an adapter kit to make inside cuts, don't know if the kit is still available.

Comment