Please help find a scroll saw! UK

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please help find a scroll saw! UK

I'm a total beginner and really need help buying a scroll saw.

I want to make children's toys and household items like wooden ornaments etc.

Is a NuTool 330mm scroll saw SS13-4 any good?

I moved your thread to a more appropriate forum to maximize traffic and get you more responses to your request/question.
    Last edited by wood-n-things; 10-26-2011, 01:42 PM.

Welcome to the forum. Some of our members from the UK will be by to help. Keep checking back. I changed your thread title to draw more specific attention as well.
    "Still Montana Mike"

"Don't worry about old age--it doesn't last that long."
    Mike's Wood-n-Things LLC

Comment

Originally posted by Panacea View Post
      I'm a total beginner and really need help buying a scroll saw.
      Is a NuTool 330mm scroll saw SS13-4 any good?
      Hi Panacea

Is it any good.... well the blade goes up and down and its dirt cheap but that's as far as it goes, and its dirt cheap for a good reason.

If you want to make the items you want, then you should be looking at something a bit better relating to quicker and easier blade changing & using pin blades, motor that has more power, at least hi / low speed rather than single.

So the choice is to buy one and either get put off of scroll saw work for life, or realise its not up to doing what you want and buying something better, either way its a waste of your hard earned money.

What should you buy ...

For the great service and guarantees then it has to be from Axminster

The cheapest I would recommend is

Buy Jet JSS-16 Bench Top Variable Speed Fretsaw from Axminster, fast delivery for the UK

More money but even better is the Hegner clone

Buy Axminster AWFS18 Fretsaw from Axminster, fast delivery for the UK

Top of the range is

Buy Excalibur EX-21 Scroll Saw from Axminster, fast delivery for the UK

Good luck