Different Woods

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Different Woods

I'm a completely new person to the world of carving and woodwork, but I've got a goal, and that's good

My Story:
    I'm a saxophonist. As a reed player, I constantly shell out money for reeds. These reeds are stored in reed cases. You can buy different types of cases, from 2-4 plastic in many different styles, 10 in a vinyl covered wooden case, or a 6 in a completely wooden case made from cherrywood with a fiberglass plate in it to keep the reeds flat. My goal is to eventually make a 10 reed case from wood myself. (Much more satisfying than buying one for $40+)

My problem stems from the fact that I'm a college student, and as a general rule, I don't have money to burn on really nice reed cases... but I do have the time to make them.

I'm wondering how easy cherrywood is to work with, and what other types of wood do I have to choose from? I assume I can use darn near everything, but I'm looking for woods that are easy-medium difficulty to carve.

Also, a list of tools I may/may not need would be helpful. I assume I'll need chisels and sandpaper, but other than that, I know nothing Thanks for your help!

Re: Different Woods

Btw, what about Curly Redwood? I'm looking at a nice piece my friend has, but I don't want to mess up pretty badly by getting into something ugly Thanks again!

Comment

David

I mainly carve hardwoods such as Cherry, Walnut and Maple.
      Of the three Walnut is the easiest and Cherry and Maple are about the same. Any thing with a curly fiqure will be difficult to carve because of changes in grain direction. I have not carved Redwood but since it is softer you may have better luck but make sure you have sharp tools. Before you start getting into these woods I think it would be a good idea to start with simple Basswood and practice practice practice.