how do i dry wet wood

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how do i dry wet wood

I'm very new at wood carving and hope to carve bookends out of some old stumps, now is there a special way to dry the wood or is it the feared leave it outside and wait method??
    I'm hoping someone will have an informed answer(but any will do!!) thanks rich

Re: how do i dry wet wood

Rich,
    You can do a number of things you can as you say leave it outside and let it dry. I prefer to let it dry in the shed or somewhere it doesnt keep getting wet. You can also have it kiln dried that will elimintate some of the checking. No matter what you do unless you cut it into strips and laminate it it will check somewhat. If you wish you could carve it wet but then again it will check almost immediatly when you start to carve it. The best method as long as the stumps are not too thick is to cut it square and then dip the ends into parafine wax this as long as the pieces are not too thick will stop it from checking. Having said that it also depends on the wood you are carving some woods check worse that others.
    Hope that this has helped somewhat I think the bottom line is that unless you have it professionally done is is going to check some.
    Colin

Comment

I am better at wetting dry wood! LOL I just put the wood in my shop and let it sit!

Comment

Rich,
        I have recently been spending more time woodturning than carving. The people in turning forums are very inventive in thier theories to dry wood faster than Mother Nature may have provided for. Here are a few I have been reading about:

Soaping: they soak wet roughed out wood in a solution of 50/50 liquid dishsoap and water for 1 day to 1 month, then finish the project.

Microwave: they nuke the wood at low power for 1 to 2 minutes and then watch the weight of the block, repeating every couple hours until the block stops losing weight.