Stack cutting plywood

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stack cutting plywood

I'm stack-cutting 4 pieces of 1/4 inch red oak plywood with Flying Dutchman FD-TC #5 blades, and I'm having a bit of trouble with the backs being fuzzy--hence my previous question about sanders. Sanding inside all the cuts is really a pain. Right now I'm using sandpaper wrapped around a popsicle stick This is my first attempt at stack cutting plywood so I thought maybe I was doing something wrong. (I'm doing the lanterns on the front of this month's issue.) It's not just the bottom sheets; it is all four of them that have wood fibers hanging off of them around the cuts.

This wood is new to me so maybe it's just the wood, since I'm also having an amazing amount of tearing around the drill holes, which I did not have before. Any words of wisdom would be deeply appreciated, as always

I'm wondering if your boards are stacked tightly enough against each other. How have you fastened them together? And are you certain they're flat?

Gill
    There is no opinion, however absurd, which men will not readily embrace as soon as they can be brought to the conviction that it is readily adopted.
    (Schopenhauer, Die Kunst Recht zu Behalten)

Comment

The only reason I can think of for all 4 to have tear out is as Gill said, the stack is just not tight enough. That being said, all Oak plywood is not created equally. The type of stuff that Home Depot or Lowes carries will tear out terribly no matter how cautious you are. The TC's will also contribute to tear-out as well as the reverse teeth are coming up through the boards in all areas. I haven't tried these on plywood myself for this reason (they are great for solid hardwoods though).
      Kevin
      Scrollsaw Patterns Online
      Making holes in wood with an EX-30, Craftsman 16" VS, Dremel 1680 and 1671

Comment