Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where to find Tupelo?

Hi,
    I have been carving basswood with a knife for about 7 months, and am switching to power tools. Where can I get cheap tupelo wood? Also I was thinking about buying an quarter acre of rural land and grow trees on it for future timber. Anyone know of a wood that grows in PA, and is VERY expensive. Also does anyone know where I can get Tupelo seeds, how can I grow them in PA, and not in a swamp? Would a beech work? Thank you

Comment

Re: Where to find Tupelo?

If you're wanting to make some money from trees in the near future, you're best bet would be christmas trees. But a christmas tree farm requires alot of work trimming and shaping to get good looking trees.

Buy the land and go deer hunting, PA has alot of nice running venison

Comment

Not sure where to get Tupelo, but if you want some valuable wood, look for some woods in either McKean, Potter, Warren, Elk or Cameron counties. I grew up there and black cherry grows like weeds up there. Off the top of my head, the only wood more valuable than cherry I can think of is Black Walnut, at least that grows easily in PA.

I agree though about timber being a long term investment. For the most part, when someone sells land, they usually log it first to maximize their earnings. I'd buy some land, manage it for Cherry and put up a hunting cabin for the meantime. Not only is there a lot of deer up there, there are lots of grouse which I think taste even better!

Bob
        www.GrobetUSA.com

Comment

One place to buy tupelo is http://www.tupelotimber.ca/
          I doubt it's cheap but I'm certain it's great wood.

Comment

There is no 'cheap tupelo' that I know of. Tupelo is very labor intensive to harvest and only a small portion of the tree is used for carving wood so the price is quite high compared to basswood or northern white pine. A 6'X9'X12' piece runs about $40-$50.