Removing Rust from Scroll Table

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Removing Rust from Scroll Table

I just posted yesterday about inheriting my first scroll saw(Delta 40-601). The saw had been sitting idle for about 2-3 years and has developed a layer of surface rust on the table top. I was hoping that you guys could give me some advice about how to remove that rust properly. I was hoping to be able to remove the rust with out removing/hurting the swirled machining pattern that was originally on the surface of the table top.....as you can still see it through the rust. Will that be possible?

Anyways, your advice would be greatly appreciated!

Jason

Hi Jason

My tables are either aluminium or plywood, so I'm afraid I've no experience when it comes to removing rust. Sorry .

However, rather than scouring your table to remove the rust (which could leave your table uneven) you might consider using a false table, possibly with a zero tolerance blade insert such as the one discussed here.

Gill
    There is no opinion, however absurd, which men will not readily embrace as soon as they can be brought to the conviction that it is readily adopted.
    (Schopenhauer, Die Kunst Recht zu Behalten)

Comment

I would use mineral spirits, and sandpaper on a block of wood, 320 or 400 grit. Sand it wet in circular motion. Once happy with the rust off, wipe it real clean with mineral spirits, then wipe it good with rubbing alcohol, followed by a coat of johnsons paste wax.
      Dale
      Dale w/ yella saws

Comment

I am ready for the screams
        I have used a sharpening stone, Rubbing it over the table.
        Then I wiped the dust off with a rag soaked in mineral spirits.
        The stone didn't damage the table at all.
        CAЯL HIRD-RUTTEЯ
        "proud member of the best scroll sawing forum on the net."
        Ryobi SC180VS scroll saw EX21

Comment