First Saw--Delta 40-601--Good???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First Saw--Delta 40-601--Good???

I have never operated at scroll saw in my life but have always wanted to. I just inherited a hardly used Delta 40-601 varible speed 18" scroll saw. I know nothing about this saw really. I was told that it's motor is a 1HP motor. The saw and stand it VERY heavy, that's for sure. It sure pures quiet.

I was hoping that you vets could tell me what to expect out of this saw. Should I be able to expect good quality out of this saw? Is it well made? Is it too much muscle for a total beginner?

Sure would appreciate your thoughts! Thanks!
    Jason

No worries for you

Well made saw and there isn't too much you can't do with it.
    I wish I had one It has all the features you will need to carry you through years of happy scrolling!
    CAЯL HIRD-RUTTEЯ
    "proud member of the best scroll sawing forum on the net."
    Ryobi SC180VS scroll saw EX21

Comment

Hi Jason

Welcome to the forum .

It sounds like you've struck lucky, because heavy saws tend to vibrate less than lighter ones. The Delta's are very good machines (although we all have our preferences ) and there's no doubt that it will serve you well.

Gill
      There is no opinion, however absurd, which men will not readily embrace as soon as they can be brought to the conviction that it is readily adopted.
      (Schopenhauer, Die Kunst Recht zu Behalten)

Comment

That should be a great old saw for you. I believe it is Delta's indutrrial quality C-arm model that they had previous to the Delta P-20.
        Here is something I just found about one for sale
        http://kansascity.craigslist.org/tls/135477593.html
        Some say that parts are no longer available for it but I don't know how true that is . Would be best to contact Rick Hutcheson at this address
        http://www.scrollsaws.com/