Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Delta QuickSett blade chucks

Scrollers,
    I've been using a Delta 350 for a few months now, and I'm having a little trouble with one thing. When I try to use a sanding belt in the QuickSett blade chucks it seems that I can't find the tension that works. Either it is too tight to close, or it closes but then pops open when in use. No happy medium. Is it something I'm doing, or is this what you have to put up with using sanding belts with the QuickSett clamps? I'm thinking maybe the plastic tab is too thick for the clamps to work properly. Anyone else have experience with this?

Bruce
    Bruce
    . . . because each piece will be someone's heirloom someday.
    visit sometime
    Hawk 220VS, Delta 40-570

millwab, I have used the sanding belts with my Delta Quickset clamps and have had no problem. You just have to find the right amount to open the clamps before you clamp them closed. I found a cheaper way to make my own sanders. I cut a 5" strip of emery cloth 1/2" wide, fold it in half lengthwise and you have a 1/4" sanding strip, it is not as thick as the ones you buy with the plastic on the ends. I very seldom sand anymore, if you use the right blades you don't need to sand. Mick.
    Mick, - Delta P-20

A smile is a small curve that straightens everything out.

Comment

Bruce, I had the same problem with the quicksets as you do. I never solved it, since I got a different saw before I got there. I think the plastic may be too slick, and also perhaps the quickset lever system can't deliver the same grip that a simple screw clamp can.

Comment

The tabs on the sanding strips are thicker than a blade .
        Sand them down the thickness of a blade and the clamps will work fine.
        Fred

Comment

Originally posted by Mick Walker
          I very seldom sand anymore, if you use the right blades you don't need to sand. Mick.