Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Blade/Speed for White Oak

Newbie Here.
    I'm using a Delta Two speed Scroll saw and Olson #5 blade. 3/4" white oak is just burning and breaking blades. I was using the high speed. Do I need a different blade? Or a variable speed saw?
    Thanks.
    JCraig

JCraig:

1st and most important, Welcome to the site. If you would, please go on over to Welcome Members and tell us something about yourself. Are you a newbie scroller or just newbie to this forum? Are you just starting out? or transfer from other woodworking?

But on to your questions.

3/4 inch thick oak will burn. To help prevent burn get clear package tape and put over pattern on wood.

There are many types of blades. #5 is only a blade size, you must also consider blade tooth design. At times, if there is a problem removing chips out of the cut, the chips will collect between the blade and stock causing heat and burning. Look for a skip tooth design (tooth, skip, tooth, etc). No spiral tooth, crown tooth or other fancy blades. You will later develop the skills to know when to use them.

Blade manufacture does matter. Go to http://www.mikesworkshop.com/ and get yourself a Flying Dutchman brand blades. Get the assortment package he offers as this is a good starting place for a newbie.

Blade breakage for newbie can be caused by:
    1: blade tension is incorrect.
    2: Without your knowing it, you are applying sideways pressure on the blade.
    3: Without knowing it, you are feeding the stock too fast into the cut. Let the blade cut the wood and clear the chips out.

Scroll sawing is a skill. A learned eye-hand co-ordination thing. With practice you will overcome the above problems. Some advice on cutting at Rick's place: http://www.scrollsaws.com/, just scroll down on the left hand side of your screen.

There are other, less common causes, of blade breakage. Let us try the above first.

Others will add their advise also.

Phil

Comment

well said