What makes...................

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What makes...................

changing blades different from one saw to another? It seems like the biggest complaint so far is blade changing and noise. I have a Dremel and since I am a newbie in this world of scrolling, I do not know the difference. I have tried playing with mine and I have changed the blade to create an inside pattern of my own. I had some difficulty changing the blade but more so to get it "threaded" through the hold I drilled. Could some of the veterans of the "sport" give me some explanation as to how they change the blade in their Hegner or RBI?

On mine I loosen the tensioner on the top back of the saw. I then open the door under the table on the right side. At this point I have the hold down foot up all the way. I then loosen the top blade clamp or knob. I tried to slide my "work" down over the blade leaving the lower clamp or knob in place. To me it doesn't seem like there is enough room to put my "piece" down over the blade without flexing the blade some to get it through the hole. Am I doing something wrong, or is this normal???
    Mike P.

He is a man of sense who does not grieve for what he has not, but rejoices in what he has.
    - Epictetus

changing blades

and noise and vibration.....those are all reasons why my dremel sits unused and I am now the proud owner of a DeWalt 788....I bought an after market bar that goes on the side of the DeWalt, I loosen the blade and I can lift the blade with one finger and move the arm up out of the way, change the blade of insert into the wood and move the arm back down, put the blade in the slot and tighten the knob....could't be easier.....

Comment

My Dremel model 1680 does not vibrate at all. Actually pretty quiet. I mounted it on a solid bench with a peice of carpet under it to dampen sound, noise and vibration.