Dry Mount / Laminating question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dry Mount / Laminating question

Hi Everyone, I have a non-puzzle question for those who use a dry mount / laminating press. Recently, I made a couple of clipboards using either scrapbook patterned paper or one of my photos. I purchase the blank clipboards at Michaels, then mount and laminate the image, however I find that the laminating isn't hard enough and that if it is used to write on (as clipboards are made to do) the writing is impressioned into the laminate. Does anyone have any ideas on how to make the laminate hard enough or is there a specific material I should be using as a laminate? I use Finish Guard laminate and put it in the heat press for about 6-7 minutes @ 225 degrees.
    Any ideas or comments are appreciated!

I have been working with Dry Mount for over 20 years, and I have never found a way to make the surface harder. Most of the time I use the press at 360 degrees, from 10 -15 minutes depending on the thickness of the wood.
    Hawaiilad
    Larry

Comment

Find someone who does sublimation printing onto Clipboards or silk screening. That is the best way i can think of.

Comment

What about topping it off with some epoxy? They do have that stuff you can buy to put on table tops. I bet you could get one of those $3.00 syringe types and a 3 cent credit card from the store and top it off with that. It 'might' work.

Anyway, that'd be my 3-3-3 plan. (When I figure out the what the other 3 is in there for I'll edit this note).

Oh, oh, get the "3 minute" epoxy - then you're done in 3 (or so) minutes.

John
        I've Got A Lot More To Learn
        About Leaving Battlegrounds Alone
        "~~ Molly Venter

Comment

Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Latest Topics

Collapse

• Quartz43
          Reply to New tools
          by Quartz43