a few questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• a few questions

I have a few questions if anyone would be so kind to help me out with.

1. I have a project that has a small defect in it. It's on the backside but with this particular piece it can be viewed from either side. My question is, when someone expresses interest in it, should I make them aware of it at that time or do I put a neon sign showing there is a defect and point where it's at? I don't want to mark it down because I don't feel it's that bad. I would rather enjoy it at home for myself if I mark it down any further since it took me a while to make.

2. I am new to craft shows and was curious if it's a good idea to give receipts for purchases? I would have to handwrite them out since I don't have a register.

3. I read on several posts that it's a good idea to have business cards. Right now this is a hobby that I run as a very small side business and since I have a day job, I don't want another full time job. So, I am not wanting a bunch of phone calls with a whole lot of orders to stress me out. I want to be able to enjoy my hobby. On the other hand, I might seem more legitimate if I did have business cards. How about not putting my phone # on the card and just e-mail?

Thanks for any input. It's nice to have access to all the experience out there!

morning, nicholas,
    i tell people that i've been married twice and that makes me either an expert on marriage or proves i have NO idea about marriage. that being said, i've done a few craft shows so that makes me an expert or proves i have NO idea what i'm doing.

i will, however, give you my opinion on your questions.

1.don't include the "defective" piece in your booth if you have to explain that it's marred. it makes you appear to be "less than" and one of the things we sell is craftsmanship. ya oughta be soooo proud of all your work and apologizing or pointing out faults could make a customer suspect your other works.