backing methods

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• backing methods

Hi, I am new to intarsia, but I am loving it, have made a few pieces, but was wondering has anyone use any other method for the backing besides wood. Would like to find something that lets the piece hang flush to the wall. Was wondering if gluing to canvas would work.

I've never considered using canvas, but see no reason it wouldn't work if you don't mind flexibility in your project. I like my intarsia to fit tightly together and have no gaps and wonder if something stretchy like fabrics would stretch enough with the weight of the wood to cause the piece to pull apart over time. Edge gluing the pieces of the project together might delay that, but the flexibility of the backer might allow those glue joints to separate, especially if you use CA glue to join the pieces. It glues quickly but is not strong. That's why some folks use it for temporary glue joints while shaping. Just my thoughts.

Jan

Comment

I have used veneer and also 1/32 plywood
      Rolf
      RBI G4 26 Hawk, EX 16 with Pegas clamps, Nova 1624 DVR XP
      Philosophy "I don't know that I can't, therefore I can"
      Proud Member of the Long Island Woodworkers Club
      And the Long Island Scrollsaw Association

Comment

I haven't tried 1/32 plywood. I didn't know that was available. Where do you find it?

Jan

Comment

I found some at Micheals or AC Moore. I use it for book marks. I have also bought it from Sloans
          Plywoods

That has been on smaller projects I think it would be too thin for a really big project.

I use 1/16 for most of my ornaments.
          Rolf

Comment