wood thickness question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• wood thickness question

I just picked up some exotic lumber today and as usual it all comes a full one inch thick. The problem I have is paying good money and planing it down to 3/4". If I don't plane the wood down to that thickness then I have a ton of sanding to do for my finished piece since I am using various types of wood . My question to the more experienced wood workers out there is do you bandsaw the wood in half and use shims or am I working with wood that should be planed down to 1/2". I have done a few projects in the Kathy Wise intarsia book and very pleased with the outcome even though they seem thicker than some of the examples being sold where I live. I am even trying my hand at my own patterns with some success. Sorry about the long post but this is my first thread and I have been doing intarsia now for 6 months .

It really depends on the project and where this wood will be used. Sometimes if I need to take a great deal off I slice it of the back on the band saw. Other times 1" is not enough and I would use shims. I find it easier starting out thick and then working it down to the thickness I need for the project.
    Rolf
    RBI G4 26 Hawk, EX 16 with Pegas clamps, Nova 1624 DVR XP
    Philosophy "I don't know that I can't, therefore I can"
    Proud Member of the Long Island Woodworkers Club
    And the Long Island Scrollsaw Association

Comment

wood question reply to Rolf

Thanks for such a quick answer. I like the bird and animal patterns. I would assume songbirds would be thin pieces like the tail feathers. The two fish patterns are 1" and tapered down especially the fins to 1/2" or less. Would a deer pattern start out 1" ? I just completed a great horned owl 16" high by 8" wide and the wood used is 1" thick. I was happy with the outcome since I used a sketch and put it into intarsia.

Comment