Question about inlaying

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about inlaying

I'm going to try some inlaying projects and have one basic question for those who have done it. First, I know that it consists of stack cutting different materials so I'll stay away from any wood where bright dust colors bleed from one to another. For my first project I'll probably use red oak and maple. The way I understand it, the cutout piece from one wood is inserted into another wood to form the insert. However, there has to be a small drilled hole for the blade to start on the interior cut to be inserted. What have you done to hide the hole on the insert piece? BTW, at this time I'll be doing straight cuts and will try beveled cuts later.

Harris

Hi Harris

I've never tried this type of inlaying before so I can't help you much there. However, I'd have thought you could use practically any color of wood you want so long as you give each piece a coat of sanding sealer before cutting. This liquid (which appears cloudy when it's first applied but dries clear) blocks the pores of open grained wood, thus preventing contrasting wood dust from penetrating into the grain.

It won't affect whatever finish you eventually apply because it doesn't penetrate deeply and can easily be removed with a light sanding. Indeed, applying a coat of sanding sealer before applying a finish means that the wood cannot soak up so much of the finish, thus giving a better (and cheaper ) result.

Gill
    There is no opinion, however absurd, which men will not readily embrace as soon as they can be brought to the conviction that it is readily adopted.
    (Schopenhauer, Die Kunst Recht zu Behalten)

Comment

Hi Harris,

I have done a lot of inlaying wood using the stacked cut technique. Make
      sure that the two woods you stack are the same thickness. First try stack
      cutting scrap wood that is 1/4" thick. Tilt your table about 3 degrees, right