starting a new project - A red rose for my mom

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• starting a new project - A red rose for my mom

I am writing these lines for the second time... lost my post of the first attempt! grrr

Some people asked me to share progress pics as I go on this new one. It is my first attempt at making a rose, so bear with me, this may end up being a longer journey then you think

All the pieces of wood are cut and fit together. I taped pieces together to increase stability as I adjusted the fit between pieces. The rose (and the buds) are made of bloodwood(red), bubinga (dark pink) and cherry wood.

This is a Lucille Crabtree pattern that I modified to get 2 rose buds in the composition rather then just one.

The thicker pieces of wood are 1 " thick. I used shims underneath certain parts to make them even thicker (1 3/8").

I just started some rough shaping, and I don't know why, but this time I am going from the thickest piece to the lowest as I felt more comfortable that way.
    Don't hesitate if you have questions/comments. I am sure I can benefit from eveyone's experience
    Attached Files
    Henriette

"People are just as happy as they make up their minds to be"
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    HCorbeil Wood Mosaics web page

Great Henri!" -Yippee! - we got you to bite the WIP bullet. I'm going to enjoy this one!

A couple of questions please?

How wide is the rose? it looks pretty big from the photos

When you finish this tell me if you think it would have been better going even thicker than you have. It seems to me that you might be in for a challenge to stop this from looking a little flat although knowing how skilful you are I'm sure you'll find a way

Keep the photos coming please - they are great!
    Jim in Mexico

Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.
    - Albert Einstein

Comment