Question about patenting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about patenting

Hello I have been of line for about 11 months. If you go back to my previous posts you will see that I make "Shape Shifting Scroll Saw Puzzles". I started making them about 3 years ago. If you read my previous posts you can read about them and see pictures of them. It turns out to my surprise that no one else had ever heard of them before I started to make them. Apparently I invented them.

When I show them to people they say I should patent them. I am 77 years old. I am a retired university professor and researcher. I am not a businessman, I have no need to make a lot of money. I want to teach anyone who is interested how to make Shape Shifting puzzles.

My question is, can someone else take out a patent on my work if it is now in the public domain? Can they then prevent me from making my own puzzles?

Dr. John W. Evans

I moved your thread to a more appropriate forum to maximize traffic and get you more responses to your request/question.
    Last edited by wood-n-things; 10-01-2011, 09:55 AM.

Dr. Evans,

I'm no attorney but you hear of people taking others ideas and making them their own all the time. This is the very reason they have a patent and copyright law.

I would say the answer to your question is ...Yes someone else could very well steal your idea and apply for a patent or copyright on it if you do not do so. Sad but true.

Here is a link to one of your older posts so folks can see examples of your work. Which are very unique.
    http://www.scrollsawer.com/forum/scr...zles/16176.htm
    Last edited by wood-n-things; 10-01-2011, 10:02 AM.
    "Still Montana Mike"

"Don't worry about old age--it doesn't last that long."
    Mike's Wood-n-Things LLC

Comment

Looks like even you couldn't get a patent on it now: