X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What kind of scroll saw is this?

Hello everyone:
    this is my first post in this forum.

I have found this scroll saw in a local shop catalog. It is very cheap (34,99 euros). I don't know if I should buy it.
    (note that now I don't have money for a more expensive saw.)

I am a newbie, and I don't know much about scroll saws. This would be be my first scroll saw.

I've researched a bit, and it seems that this scroll saw is not of a standard type. It is not a parallel arm design, and it seems it is not a C-Arm type either. What kind of saw is this? maybe is an old "rigid arm" saw?

thanks for any advice

Last edited by ScrollNewbie; 03-18-2007, 11:20 AM.

Welcome to the forum. I've never seen anything like this. More than likely, someone here will be able to recognize it. If not, there are a few things you should find out from the company. It appears to be variable speed, but substantiate that. Also, make sure it accepts 5" pinless blades. Inquire about the ease of blade changing. These are probably the main features to be concerned with. My guess is, within 36 hours, someone will come along with more knowledge.
    Mike

Making sawdust with a Dremel 1680.
    www.picturetrail.com/naturephotos

Comment

It looks like there may be a return spring in that cylinder on the top. That would give the blade a straight up and down motion like the Eclipse has.
      Fred

There's a fine line between woodworking and insanity, I'm just not sure which side of the line I'm on!

Comment

Hello Minnesota:

Thanks for the welcome.

Yes, it is a variable speed machine. The specs say from 750 to 1500 rpm and I guess the knob you can se in the photo is for that purpose.

I cannot have more information because this is one of these supermarkets that bring special weekly offers of "no brand" articles. They usually have very few units. sometimes are good products, sometimes are not.