Wood Stacking & Blade Selection?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wood Stacking & Blade Selection?

Need some advice. I'm wanting to start on a JZ pattern that I've been holding on to for a couple of years now. "Engine 86" He suggests stacking at least three 1/8" to 1/4" plywood piece together and use Flying Dutchman 2/0 spiral blades. Not questioning what he is suggesting, I'm just not comfortable with spiral blades. (yet)

My main concern is if I use non spiral blades should I still stack the wood to help support the fragile pieces? Haven't stacked any of my work yet but this pattern seems to have longer, thinner cuts. Wondering if I should get comfortable with spiral blades and put this one off a little longer? Or plow ahead?
    Last edited by tcleckler; 03-06-2007, 01:20 PM.
    Troy

Scrollin' with DeWalt DW788

Troy, I cut "Engine 86" from one piece of 1/8" birch plywood with straight blades, only had one mishap in a place that shouldn't have broken. I used a blade a little too long, it was on the cow catcher. I soon learned to keep a sharp blade in the saw while cutting that one. Click on the picture to make it larger. I fastened N guage track to the frame.

Mick, - Delta P-20

A smile is a small curve that straightens everything out.

Comment

Troy, forgot to tell you that I used 2/0 28 t.p.i. reverse tooth blades. I cut all the smallest pieces first working my way up to the larger ones. I taped the cut pieces back in place in the fragile areas. The most difficult one I have cut so far. Have fun with it , it is a challenge. There are a lot of long floppy ones to cut.
      Mick, - Delta P-20

A smile is a small curve that straightens everything out.

Comment