Looking for Kachina patterns

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for Kachina patterns

Hi Folks! Just joined your group. I'm new at scrolling but am enjoying it.

Does anyone know where I can find patterns for Kachinas?

I have asked several of the pattern stores but no luck.

I got a Kachina coloring book with the hopes of possably adapting to scroll but thay look too difficult.

Re: Looking for Kachina patterns

You have posted this question on a number of forums but you have not explained what a Katchina is. It is not a term you hear everyday. I can suggest you might have better luck on a site that deals with portraits.http://groups.msn.com/scrollsawportraits/general.msnw They probably can help.
    John T.

Comment

A Katchina is a wooden doll make by the indians(mostly) and dressed in their cerimonial costumes.

Comment

I saw this on Amazon, hope it helps

Comment

Yes, John T he asked before and we told him to go to Google to find what he is lookin g for: http://www.artindien.com/danseur1.html
          However it is not for a scroller but more for a carver and maybe he could ask on the carver forum if someone could help to make a pattern for a scroll saw. However it doesn't look like it can be done.
          Mikie M
          SD Mike

Comment

Why couldn't it be done? I use flat pictures from Goggle for carving patterns all the time! All he needs to do is find one he likes, print it out, transfer to wood, and cut it out. He may have to get creative with the arms and dowel them on, but it's no big deal.

One thing nice about computers, you can re-size the picture as big or small as you want it for the size project you want to do.

Comment

Thanks folks for your input. I do appreciate it.
              I received a pattern for the Sun Kachina by e-mail.

Here is a helpfull note from my notebook----

Check out 99 cent and $1 stores for various scroller needs.
              i.e. I found good picture frames I can use for only $1.