Crow and Raven Patterns

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Crow and Raven Patterns

I posted to the beginners board so I wanted to post here also. I am looking for patterns for crows and or ravens. If you know of a good site for thses or birds in general I would appreciate the info! I am new to scrolling and I really enjoy this great resource for info on my latest hobby.

Re: Crow and Raven Patterns

When I'm looking for pictures of something to carve I do a Google search under images

Crows about 160K http://images.google.com/images?q=crow&hl=en

Ravens about 177K http://images.google.com/images?svnu...mp;btnG=Search

Comment

Thanks for replying! I have a lot of pictures and drawings of crows but how do I make those into a scroll saw pattern? Knowing what to take out and leave in is where I have a problem. I have looked for a program made for this but have not found anything yet. Any tips you could give will be appreciated.

Comment

If you are looking to make a portrait, check out Gary Browning's book Scroll Saw Portraits (click on the Fox Chapel link in my signature) He has a chapter on turning a photograph into a pattern for a scroll saw portrail...I'll see if I can find any other sources...

Bob Duncan
        Fox Chapel Publishing
        www.GrobetUSA.com

Comment

Isn't it 'Stiller' that has all the patterns of about anything you want? ummmm I think the name is stiller? :

Comment

Has anyone on here ever done the change over from a picture to a scroll saw pattern? Is it difficult? And did it turn out right? thanks!

Comment

I've seen it done, but haven't actually done it my self. It's all about determining negative space and shadows. Gary gives a in-depth description in his book. He has his own website and is very active on-line; We've got a list of all our author's websites at http://www.foxchapelpublishing.com/c...ur_authors.cfm

If I were you, I'd pick up the book and then you have Gary to go back to if you have any questions!

Bob