Anyone Cut mat board?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone Cut mat board?

I am a semi-pro photographer and I frame my photos with mat board. Would like to know if anyone has used a scroll saw to cut designs in a mat board and if so, what size/type blade would you use?
    Last edited by joevm; 07-09-2012, 11:42 AM.

I'm not a photographer, nor have I ever used mat board, but I'll take a stab at this one anyway.

From what I know about mat board, compared to wood or plywood, it would be pretty soft and offer little resistance to a blade, so I would probably use the smallest, least aggressive blade I had. The most common would be a 2/0 reverse tooth blade. This would allow you to easily cut very fine detail, but may be a little more difficult to follow long straight lines than a larger blade. If the design wasn't all that intricate or detailed, then a larger blade, perhaps a #3 reverse tooth, would work well, but would be somewhat more aggressive, thus a little harder to control, so you will want to turn the speed down (presuming the saw is variable speed) pretty low.

Hope this helps.
    Homer : "Oh, and how is education supposed to make me feel smarter. Besides, every time I learn something new, it pushes some old stuff out of my brain."

Comment

I might give the Flying Dutchmen superior puzzle blade a try. It is very small and not very aggressive.
      "Still Montana Mike"

"Don't worry about old age--it doesn't last that long."
      Mike's Wood-n-Things LLC

Comment

I am not sure how soft it is because when you cut it with a knife it has a nice cleanfinish.
        I would put a backer under it for support and give it a shot with you favorite blade that gives you the best finish. I think being a cardboard base it will kill the blades.
        Rolf
        RBI G4 26 Hawk, EX 16 with Pegas clamps, Nova 1624 DVR XP
        Philosophy "I don't know that I can't, therefore I can"
        Proud Member of the Long Island Woodworkers Club