Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Inkscape Vector Art Program

Anyone played around with this yet?
    I've been looking for a vector-based program to work with (along the lines of Corell and Adobe Illustrator) and found Inkscape.

It's open-source, which means that it's free, along the lines of GIMP, and has a lot of the functionality of AI and Corell.

For example, I took the Victorian Hot Plate (Which I happen to be making for a holiday present), which we had as a bitmap image in our storage, used the auto trace function, and got a vector file...just like that.

Now, I have no experience with vector-based graphics. But this was cake!!!

Anyone else used it? I can see how it would be awsome to clean up portrait patterns (eliminating all the little fuzzies that always seem to crop up, and straightening out any bitmapped lines)

Oh..if you want to check it out, just google Inkscape!

Bob
    www.GrobetUSA.com

Bob,
    When you save the vector file, can you save it in a format that another program can read (eg: Corel) or does it only save it in a proprietary format? One of the drawbacks to Serif's Drawplus program is that another program can't read the vector file. You can export it as a jpg or bmp etc but that defeats the purpose of the vector file.

Bruce
    Bruce
    . . . because each piece will be someone's heirloom someday.
    visit sometime
    Hawk 220VS, Delta 40-570

Comment

The SVG format can be read by CS2 Illustrator...not sure about corell. YOu can also save as a postscript file, a pdf, an eps, and a DXF (a CAD format)...

The main problem I've run into is figuring out the conversion system to be able to open an AI file...the MAC terminal function is tough to use...I'll have to install it on my PC at home and see how it works there!

Bob
      www.GrobetUSA.com

Comment

Bob,