1 3/8' wood?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1 3/8' wood?

I'm starting a cup cake box and it requires a 1 3/8 inch thick wood and all I have is 3/4...
    I've started by gluing two pieces of 3/4 together ( I'm waiting for glue to dry) and then the plan is to cut it down to 1 3/8 with my band saw..
    I'm just thinking how the glue line and the miss matched wood grain is going to look like as a cup cake?

we shall see...

Trout
    Hawk G-4 Jetcraft
    Fish are food, not friends!

In the future may I suggest using two contrasting woods thereby adding to the overall look of the cupcake.
    "Still Montana Mike"

"Don't worry about old age--it doesn't last that long."
    Mike's Wood-n-Things LLC

Comment

it's going to look just fine!
      this is my first time using forstner bits...they make a mess!

Trout
      Hawk G-4 Jetcraft

Comment

If you use contrasting woods, the thinner layer, after resawing, can become the icing on the cupcake. Your other choice, is to get a piece of 2" stock which is usually only 1 5/8" thick and sand it down to 1 3/8".

george
        A day without sawdust is a day without sunshine.
        George

delta 650, hawk G426

Comment

Is there a Woodcraft store or saw mill near you? Most people would be amazed how cheap a piece of 8/4 poplar, ash or similar lumber really is.
          Scott
          Creator of fine designer sawdust.

Comment

Sorry about the thickness, Trout. I experimented with thinner wood, and the proportions just didn't work. The wood also needs to be thick enough so you can drill out the opening without drilling through the sides. Do you have a local lumberyard where you can get some cutoffs of 6/4 or 8/4 wood?

I know that cupcake liners often come in different designs and colors, including stripes. Maybe you could make the base look decorative with different strips of wood. I think that's worth a try, even if your glue-ups are OK. Then you'd have party cupcakes!