• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 'fire extingisher'

any recommendations on which type and where to buy? TY
    Yea I walked through The Valley of Death and I kicked it's ***
    Semper Fi

As an old firefighter, I can tell you you need a tri-class or ABC class extinguisher. Depending on the amount of flammable liquids (varnishes, etc) you keep around a 5 lb or 10 lb is sufficient.
    "A" is common combustibles (paper, wood)
    "B" is flammable liquids
    "C" is energized electrical equipment

Mount it in an handy spot--away from the area where you store the flammable stuff. No use if you have to reach through the flames to grab it!

And remember PASS
    Pull the pin
    Aim the nozzle
    Sweep side to side at the base of the flames

And call 911. Firemen would much rather show up where the flames WERE as opposed to where the flames ARE.
    Jim
    When looking at the clock at work--the correct time is:
    Too early to leave, too late to call in.

Comment

Any of the big box stores carry them
      Rolf
      RBI G4 26 Hawk, EX 16 with Pegas clamps, Nova 1624 DVR XP
      Philosophy "I don't know that I can't, therefore I can"
      Proud Member of the Long Island Woodworkers Club
      And the Long Island Scrollsaw Association

Comment

All of the big box stores carry them even smaller hardware stores carry abc extinguishers.. I keep 2 in my shop, one by each door on opposite sides of my shop so i can always access at least one of them. I also have a fully stocked first aid kit in my shop.
        "Still Montana Mike"

"Don't worry about old age--it doesn't last that long."
        Mike's Wood-n-Things LLC

Comment

One thing I was always told by the pros was that I should turn the extinguisher over and shake it every month or two. Seems some of the chemicals settle and that makes it less effective when you use it.

Jim, feel free to correct me if you don't agree with this.

John
          John

Excalibur EX21
          RBI Hawk G4

Comment