Cutting Crown Moldings on a Scrollsaw

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cutting Crown Moldings on a Scrollsaw

I am a novice with my SS and have not cut anything but straight lines todate. I would like to know if anyone has cut any crown moldings on their SS? I am trying to save my $$ by not having to buy a Mitre Saw.

All suggestions are welcome.

Woodman44, I have been cutting crown now for about 14 years (as well as other trim) and the only way I might have used a scroll saw would have been for coping an inside corner. And that would have only have been on a small piece. (I use a jig saw with a small blade and cope quite well.)

I would suggest purchasing a small miter saw used if you are interested in running your own crown. Even if you use small crown, a scroll saw is not the right tool for crown cutting and installation.

If cost is an issue, find a friend that can do it and barter with him (or her) for a service you can provide.

Karl
    Karl in Sunny Southwest Florida

Comment

Karl,

Thanks for your suggestions. There are several for sale on Craigs List in my area. Could you make a recommendation from the following list?
      1. Makita 14", ? model - $75
      2. ? Mfg. Model 05-28-21, 8 1/4" - $ 50
      3. Ridgid Model MS 1060, 10" - $ 100
      4. Ridgid (almost new), 10" - $ 90
      5. Black & Decker Firestorm Lazer, 10" - $ 130
      6. Craftsman Model 921238 Lazer, 10" - $ 150

Thanks again,

Ken

Comment

A scroll saw is not a good choice for cutting crown molding. For good cuts on crown molding, you need to be able to hold the stock firmly against fences and have positive, stable adjustments to make accurate miter cuts. Scroll saws are more of a freehand saw. It would be pretty tough to cut a miter on the end of a 10' length.