Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sanding wood

Hi Everyone.

This is my first post and I need some advice as I am quite new to the scroll saw but loving every moment. I have no problem getting all the wood I need and usually it is in large sections. I cut the wood on my band saw but getting it nice and smooth is causing me problems. A friend used to plane it for me but he planer has packed up. I work in a spare room and it is impossible for me to have my own planer. I have a belt/disc sander coming soon and was wondering if I could use the belt sander to take of the band saw marks and generally clean the wood up. The belt is 4 inches wide but i sometimes have to go wider on the wood. I would appreciate your comments.

Yes - the belt sander will work. That's what I use all the time. The 4" wide doesn't matter - just move the sander over the other part of the wood - back and forth so you don't get a groove in the wood.
    T
    Theresa

http://WoodNGoods.weebly.com

http://woodngoods.blogspot.com

Comment

Someone posted a link to a video on making a "drum sander" for the drill press, which is useful for small piece of wood. If no one comes up with it, I'll look for it later.

And the belt sander will work, but you do have to be careful. It's also easy to sand the wood unevenly, so if uniform thickness is an issue, this might be a problem. I draw lines on all sides of my piece to serve as a guide for sanding--it helps to keep things even.
      Carole

Follow me on my blog: www.scrollsawbowls.blogspot.com

Comment

I sometimes use my belt sander to take the tool marks off. As it is the most sawdust producing tool in my shop, I always take it out to the driveway and set up sawhorses. This keeps the sawdust down in my shop.
        Paw Paw Ray

http://www.etsy.com/shop/PawPawsWorkshop

Comment

Carole would this be the video you are looking for?
          MOV03095 - YouTube